Who will be the 17th Women’s Australian Polocrosse Nationals Champions?

As always Mark Semmens Polocrosse has provided another interesting example of Polocrosse History.

When this video first went up 2 years ago, it was the week the 2020 Nationals were postponed, this game would become the second most watched on the page narrowly behind Australia v Rest of the World 1988.

The 1988 Darwin Nationals saw the debut of Women’s polocrosse at the nationals, exactly 20 years after the first titles were held.
Prior to 1988, only 3 women could represent their state at the nationals in the form of the open mixed, so this was a very historic game.
The game itself is a classic! 8 x 6 minute chukkas with no interchange, known then as the ‘Ladies’, it was no place for the faint hearted, both teams filled with champion names and champion horses in a battle to be first! . . the first ever!

The teams were NSW: Julie Davison, Leslie Jeffriess, Narelle Toole, Jenny Donnelly, Mandy Choice and Avis Wotton.
Victoria were: Wendy Barlow, Julie Woodhouse, Merrilyn Woodhouse, Paula Coridas, Vicky Morris and Lisa Coridas.
The umpires were: Sally Thompson from QLD and Mick Hughes from WA.

The 2022 Australian Nationals will be held at the Ballarat Polocrosse grounds.
W hen the 2 finalists take to the field at Ballarat on Sunday the 3rd of April 2022, it will be to decide the 17th Women’s National title.

Click the link below to view some thrilling Women’s Polocrosse

1st Women National at NT


Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Pinterest

Related News Articles